Search for Dominican Republic Properties

Monte Plata Properties

The Monte Plata province is directly due north of Santo Domingo and the National District. Its geographical coordinates are 18° 48′ 0″ North, 69° 47′ 0″ West. While the province is land locked, it does boast two small mountain ranges, Yamasá, and the beautiful Los Haitises National Park.

Major towns are: Bayaguana, Don Juan, Esperalvillo, Sabana Grande de Boya and Yamasa and the main rivers of the province are the Ozama and the Yabacao.

The main activity of the province is farming. The main cultures are sugar cane, cacao, citruses and other fruit trees. In relation to cattle ranch, the bovine is important for the production.

It is a province with very little tourist development. Bayaguana is an important place for peregrinations.